Senator Harvey S. Peeler, Jr.
Chairman
Senator Thomas C. Alexander
Senator John. L. Scott, Jr.
Senator Daniel B. "Danny" Verdin, III

Staff: Martha Casto Julie Price

College and University Trustee Screening Commission



213 Gressette Building
P.O. Box 142
Columbia, South Carolina 29202
Phone: (803) 212-6430
Email: CollegeandUniversity@scsenate.gov

Representative William R. Whitmire Vice-Chairman Representative John King Representative Kirkman Finlay, III Representative James H. "Jay" Lucas

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE November 23, 2021

The College and University Trustee Screening Commission received completed applications from the candidates listed below. The Commission will hold screening hearings in the Spring of 2022. By law, the election for these seats cannot be held prior to April 1, 2022. The election date must be set by resolution of the General Assembly.

The Citadel

One (1) at-large seat - Benjamin D. Dixon - Wadmalaw Island

- term expires June 30, 2028 - Dylan W. Goff - *Columbia*

- Kara Irvin - North Charleston

Clemson University

Three (3) at-large seats - Patricia H. McAbee - *Greenville* - terms expire June 30, 2026 - John N. McCarter - N. Myrtle Beach

Sharka Marie Prokes - *Inman*Joseph D. Swann - *Greenville*

College of Charleston

1st Congressional District - Seat 1 - Elizabeth M. Burke - *Charleston*

- term expires June 30, 2026

2nd Congressional District - Seat 3 - Derrick L. Williams - *Columbia*

- term expires June 30, 2026

3rd Congressional District - Seat 5 - Shawn M. Holland - *Anderson*

- term expires June 30, 2026

4th Congressional District - Seat 7 - Matthew C. Klein - *Greenville*

- term expires June 30, 2026

College of Charleston - continued 5 th Congressional District - Seat 9 - term expires June 30, 2026	-	Henry A. Futch, Jr Rock Hill
6 th Congressional District - Seat 11 - term expires June 30, 2026	- -	Demetria N. Clemons - <i>Columbia</i> Darryl J. Fyall - <i>Charleston</i>
7 th Congressional District - Seat 13 - term expires June 30, 2026	- -	Henrietta U. Golding - <i>Myrtle Beach</i> Ashley B. Nance - <i>Florence</i>
At-Large - Seat 15 - term expires June 30, 2026	-	Renee B. Romberger - Greenville
At-Large - Seat 17 - term expires June 30, 2026	-	Steve D. Swanson - Mount Pleasant
Francis Marion University 1st Congressional District - Seat 1 - term expires June 30, 2026	-	Mark S. Moore - Mount Pleasant
5 th Congressional District - Seat 5 - term expires June 30, 2026	-	H. Paul Dove, Jr Winnsboro
6 th Congressional District - Seat 6 - term expires June 30, 2026	-	Floyd L. Keels - <i>Lake City</i>
At-Large - Seat 8 - term expires June 30, 2026	-	Robert E. Lee - Myrtle Beach
At-Large - Seat 10 - term expires June 30, 2026	-	Kenneth W. Jackson - Mount Pleasant
At-Large - Seat 12 - term expires June 30, 2026	-	W. Edward Gunn - Columbia
At-Large - Seat 13 - term expires June 30, 2026	-	Patricia C. Hartung - Greenville
At-Large - Seat 14 - term expires June 30, 2026	-	L. Franklin Elmore - Greenville

Lander University

At-Large - Seat 8 - Robert A. Barber, Jr. - *Charleston*

- term expires June 30, 2026

At-Large - Seat 9 - James C. Shubert - Simpsonville

- term expires June 30, 2026

At-Large - Seat 10 - Peggy Makins - *Lexington*

- term expires June 30, 2026

At-Large - Seat 11 - Donald H. Scott - Waterloo

- term expires June 30, 2026

At-Large - Seat 12 - DeWitt B. Stone, Jr. - Clemson

- term expires June 30, 2026

At-Large - Seat 13 - Raymond D. Hunt, Sr. - *Chapin*

- term expires June 30, 2026

At-Large - Seat 14 - Marcia T. Hydrick - Seneca

- term expires June 30, 2026

At-Large - Seat 15 - John E. Craig, Jr. - *Lancaster*

- term expires June 30, 2026

Medical University of South Carolina

1st Congressional District - Medical Seat - Donald R. Johnson, II - *Isle of Palms*

- term expires June 30, 2026

2nd Congressional District - Medical Seat - James Lemon - *Columbia* - term expires June 30, 2026

3rd Congressional District - Medical Seat - Richard M. Christian, Jr. - *Greenwood* - term expires June 30, 2026

4th Congressional District - Lay Seat - Thomas L. Stephenson - *Greenville*

- term expires June 30, 2026

5th Congressional District - Lay Seat - Terri R. Barnes - *Rock Hill*

- term expires June 30, 2026

Medical University of South Carolina - continued 6th Congressional District - Medical Seat -W. Melvin Brown III - Charleston - term expires June 30, 2026 7th Congressional District - Lay Seat James A. Battle, Jr. - Nichols - term expires June 30, 2026 **South Carolina State University** 1st Congressional District - Seat 1 Monica R. Scott - Charleston - term expires June 30, 2026 3rd Congressional District - Seat 3 Daniel R. Varat - Piedmont - term expires June 30, 2026 7th Congressional District - Seat 7 Starlee Alexander - Florence - term expires June 30, 2026 At-Large - Seat 9 Rodney C. Jenkins - Columbia - term expires June 30, 2026 At-Large - Seat 11 Robert S. Reese - Charleston - term expires June 30, 2026 **University of South Carolina** 1st Judicial Circuit Charles H. Williams - Orangeburg - term expires June 30, 2026

3 rd Judicial Circuit - term expires June 30, 2026	-	C. Dorn Smith III - Lake City
5 th Judicial Circuit - term expires June 30, 2026	-	Alexander English - Blythewood
7 th Judicial Circuit - term expires June 30, 2026	- - -	J. Patrick Anderson - Spartanburg D. Benjamin Graves - Spartanburg Henry L. Jolly, Jr Gaffney
9 th Judicial Circuit - term expires June 30, 2026	-	John C. von Lehe - Mount Pleasant

University of South Carolina - continued

11th Judicial Circuit - Thad H. Westbrook - *Lexington*

- term expires June 30, 2026

12th Judicial Circuit - C. Edward Floyd - *Florence*

- term expires June 30, 2026

13th Judicial Circuit - D. Hollis Felkel II - *Simpsonville*

- term expires June 30, 2026 - C. Brody Glenn - *Greenville*

Reid T. Sherard - Greenville

Winthrop University

3rd Congressional District - Seat 3 - Rhonda S. Grant - Seneca

- term expires June 30, 2028

4th Congressional District - Seat 4 - Edward R. Driggers - *Greer*

- term expires June 30, 2028

Wil Lou Gray Opportunity School

Two (2) At-Large seats
- J. Blake Lindsey - West Columbia
- terms expire June 30, 2026
- Marilyn E. Taylor - Columbia

Completed applications from the candidates for the following seat are due Tuesday, November 30, 2021 by 12:00 noon:

South Carolina State University

5th Congressional District - Seat 5 - Abigail Busby-Webb, *Sumter* - term expires June 30, 2026 - Darrell Johnson, *Clover*

- Thomas E. Thompson, *Rock Hill*

-XX-